Key Areas, Sections and Scoring

  • The Comprehensive Self-Assessment consists of 10 Key Areas, each with three sections and a varying number of questions. The Key Areas and questions are weighted and scored and do not all contribute the same to the overall score.


10 Key Areas

The 10 Key Areas are:

  1. Commitment
  2. Premises
  3. Workplace Adjustments
  4. Communication and Marketing
  5. Products and Services
  6. Information Communication Technology (ICT)
  7. Recruitment and Selection
  8. Career Development
  9. Suppliers and Partners
  10. Innovation

Sections with the Key Areas

Questions within each of the Key Areas of the Index are grouped into three sections:

  • Framework: relates to organisational commitment, policies, procedures and guidelines.
  • Implementation: relates to actions, programs and initiatives that the organisation has taken to deliver on commitments.
  • Review and Outcomes: relates to monitoring and reviewing progress and using data to improve processes and outcomes for people with disability.

Weighting and scoring

The Access and Inclusion Index weights both the key areas and the questions to produce a total index score out of 100. The questions and sections have been weighted and scored based on the relative importance and impact of progressing access and inclusion for people with disability.

This scoring methodology is applied consistently across all organisations that have submitted for evaluation. The assessment, maturity model, scoring and weighting have been validated by the Centre for Workplace Leadership at the University of Melbourne.